Spring 2012 Advertising Campaigns the Top 20 thus far: 5th-1ST place

5th

Nina Ricci

Raquel Zimmerman stars in the beautiful campaign photo shot by Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin. A gorgeous play of shadows on the dress of a seemingly fleeing model. The art/creative direction is flawless.

HONOURABLE MENTION

BOTTEGA VENETA

It was a real disappointment that I wasn't able to place this nice group of images shot by Jack Pierson.

This shoe is my favourite for Spring 2012. I looks so stylish and comfortably weird.

Karmen Pedaru, Liya Kebede, Alex Cunha star in this cool resort themed campaign.

Liya Kibede is one of my favourite models of colour and I'm glad to see that she scored an ad campaign this season. I'm neither here nor there about the styling in this shot or rather the campaign as a whole but the images are engaging.

Honestly, this is the best single model shot of the season. Karmen Pedaru is amazing. I love this dress and would buy it based on this shot alone and that is the true purpose of a campaign to help sell the product.

4th

Chanel

Another season styled by her loveliness Ms. Carine Roitfield ex-editor-in-chief of Vogue Paris the premiere Vogue issue in the world. Last season I will admit I didn't like the shots very much but this season she blew it out of the park.

This is another well though tout campaign and the images although in black and white are very striking. I'm glad to see Karl Lagerfeld the chief design honcho at Chanel using a black model. I can't remember the last campaign of the Chanel house that has ever impressed me like this season's.

I think this is adorable how models Saskia de Brauw and Joan Smalls look so childlike in these balloon sleeved dresses. I feel like they are little girls playing and those shoes with the reef heels are really nice.

This is the photograph I will be looking out for in the magazines this spring. It is my favourite of all 20 campaigns I've placed. It has this ability to evoke within me strength, uncertainty and femininity all rolled into one. Strength in the harness and pose, feminity in the dress and gracefulness of the model and uncertainty in the water.

Saskia in this shot reminds me of a seal. If only seals could be this graceful and alluring...not to mention slim.

Sticking to his aquatic theme I believe that Karl Lagerfeld has really grown as a photographer. I wasn't always a fan of his images and I'm still not sure I consider him to be one of the greats in fashion photography, either. I may be forced to reconsider if he keeps cranking out great campaigns like this.

This is definitely a job well done by all creative parties.

3rd

Max Mara

Here is Saskia de Brauw again fronting for the MaxMara campaign. This campaign is so good that it will create a surge of interest in the brand.

Mario Sorreti was the photographer of this intense Spring Summer campaign.

There is a modern minimalism to this campaign and not a huge fan of the design aesthetic but it puts clean lines and well tailored separates into perspective on a marketable level.

MaxMara is not typically recognised for it's bags but I'm truly liking what I am seeing and their leather goods this season are just as engaging as the minimalist themed clothing.

The Bird of Paradise flower is such a great prop. It is practically selling the clothes itself.

2nd

Dolce and Gabanna

Featuring actors and actresses of Italian Cinema there is something so authentic that it could not be manufactured and the clothing is bella! Monica Belluci and Bianca Balti were amazing casting choices. True Italian Beauties.

Bianca Balti

Dolce and Gabbana have been known to dress the mistresses but these campaign images clearly show that the mistress and the wife both will be attended to this Spring and Summer by this iconic brand.

Another amazing shot by Italian model Bianca Balti.

Shot by Giampaolo Sgura this is the campaign that will stand out amongst the glitz of many campaigns and not just speak to fashion but to life.

It was a difficult decision to place this advertising campaign at number two. Each time I view it, I want to pack my bags and live the Italian fishing village life. It instantly makes me feel happy and the imagery is so alive.

It does a good job of showing off the clothing, the country and the lifestyle. That is the making of a great heritage campaign. Great Job by all the creatives involved.

1st

Roberto Cavalli

This is my favourite advertising campaign of them allllllllllllllllllll. ROBERTO CAVALLI, YOU ARE THE WINNER!

Even though this entire campaign was shot in the studio. It is outstanding PHOTOGRPAHY.

The casting is great.

The art direction is great.

Naomi Campbell, Karen Elson, Daphne Groeneveld, Kristen McMenamy, Daphne Groeneveld present such a glamazon united front in this Steven Meisel photographed campaign. Did I mention how AMAZING this cast of models is?

The images are strong and it caused me to look at the Roberto Cavalli brand in a way I never have.

Daphne is not one of my favorites but she is definitely holding her own among these more accomplished and acclaimed models.

Karen Elson gets me everytime. She is really a legend in my eyes and this shot is testement to her abilities as a model to evoke so much in a single shot.

The clothing is beautifully captured.

quote

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

