Spring 2012 Advertising Campaigns the Top 20 thus far: 15th-11th place

15

JUST CAVALLI

Yes, I have figured out the problem with the Just Cavalli Campaign. Stay tuned...

Three Words....The Photographer's Signature. Can you guess who?

It can't be the models cause I love Jac and Lindsey Wixon is ok.......Terry Richardson is the problem. He needs to go on vacation and gather fresh insipration for his asthetic.

14

YVES SAINT LAURENT

Mariacarla Boscono is a brilliant model. One of the best around in the last couple of years actually. She brings a haunting yet enchanting darkness to every photo she takes yet...

I find this entire campaign kind of boring and I'm sure there is some ridiculously long explanation for the blandness of it but...

I don't want to hear it and I won't blame the photographer David Sims. The issue here is bigger than him. It's the creative direction.

 

13

VALENTINO

You know what bothers me the most about this Valentino Campaign shot by Deborah Turbeville and it isn't casting. This is a great cast of models.

Bette Franke, Fei Fei Sun, Zuzanna Bijoch and Maud Welzen are each individually bringing something to the table. Especially Fei Fei Sun who is the unexpected star of this 'the clothes are melting into the background' campaign.

Yep, Fei Fei is the one ray of sun in the blandness. I don't like it as a spring campaign. It reminds me to much of the fall.

 

12

LOUIS VUITTON

I like this...not love it by any stretch of the imagination but I feel as though i could eat this photograph as a matter of fact...

It reminds me of a cake I say on sale yesterday. This Steven Meisel photograph is bubblegum dessert delicious yet...

It doesn't evoke enough passion to ignite my fire. I wouldn't stop and look deeper at it but rather appreciate the aude to dessert and skip to the next page.

11

JEAN PAUL GAULTIER

Now the campaigns begin to get interesting. Barely missing the top 10 is one of my favourite designers Jean Paul Gualtier whose campaign was shot immediately after the runway show backstage. It stars Alana Zimmerman and Constance Jablonski photographed by Miles Aldridge.

I love the semi-dressed models seemingly walking into the shot. It reminds me of an Egyptian mural even though no one is carrying the royalty. You can tell who is in charge and they dare not look her way..

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

