Masato Jones: A Designer’s Tale and Perspective

It is not unusual to meet and converse with the most interesting people on Twitter. This social network is a global unifier and for me it unified me with people who spoke my language: fashion. From the UK to the Philipines to New Zealand to The Oz; twitter has been a beautiful fashion conversation.

One of the most interesting people I have met on Twitter is a Japanese born English designer named Masato Jones and his twitter counterpart Mike.

As they are supporters of my blog and an interesting duo to follow on Twitter this post was such a fun endeavour for me.

As a designer myself I absolutely love interacting with other designers and I hope this serves as an inspiration to all you young aspiring designers. This job is hard work and you must be passionate about it.

Let’s hear Masato’s side of things…

  • Tell me a little bit about your work, the creative process and your time at Central St. Martins.
The college gave me a platform for myself to create my clothes. I was a bit naughty in my final year & gap year I was working for Giles who cultivated my passion & found me.
  • What is the title of the collection and the inspiration for the pieces which were shown recently at Essex Fashion Week?
I was really interested in sense of smell, remembering someone, something, memories. Taking about women in clothes, I wanted to create my garments representing as perfume bottle and the body as perfume.
the garments were inspired by nature such as water, vegetable and  products such as moisturiser, foundation and also looking at how these products are created by that we add to body to creates skin and also inside.
The title is perfume.
  • What is the most challenging thing about putting out a full-scale collection?
Every one of my garments have their own character within my concept or my world that I try to create for each collection. I always would try to do new techniques and using unique fabrics to making something unusual that creates beauty.
At the moment I’m challenging to design clothes, it might sound a bit weird but trying to improve my eye of developing ideas on garments and see what has to be changed or added, what fabric could go with this shape.
  • What valuable lessons have you learnt from working with designers such as Giles Deacon, Kinder Aggugini, etc.?
Working with Giles Deacon and people at the studio gave me the way to get forward my future. The biggest thing I learned from them was and still is inspiration and individuality also working as a team & individually from Giles’s concepts for the show. We are a family which is not achieved in some fashion houses. To understand that each person has different sound and it is important that the different sounds come together and create beautiful music.
  • Where do you hope to see yourself in the next year or two?
Cultivating my own label MASATO having a bigger studio and people wearing my clothes, too be stocked in the most fabulous boutiques & department stores and in 2 years to cultivate my collection for New York.
I would like to wish Masato the best of luck in the future and I hope he continues to climb to amazing heights!
All photographs by Ann Charlotte Photography

See Masato June 3rd at Brighton Fashion Week! Click here for more information.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

