The Milan Fashion Week Likes

It is perfectly normal to love everything being sent down the runway of a designer’s collection. It also happens to be normal to love somethings and not love the others. This happens to be the case with the four collections featured below.  I appreciated the aesthetics of each collection but I wasn’t wowed by everything but they were note-worthy. Spring/Summer has been such a mixed bag for me but Milan this year proved itself. There were so many great fashion ideas and interpretations coming out of Italy. I was honestly impressed. 

Here are my “LIKES” for Milan S/S 11: Gianfranco Ferre,  Roberto Cavalli, Francesco Scognamiglio and Versus

 Francesco Scognamiglio is an amazing designer…I don’t believe him when he says that “sex” inspired the collection but it was interesting. The sexual theme was there in the sheers, the lace and the volume but it was romantic at the same time. My favourite part was the oversized collars and ruffle detail on the shoulders. It had a strong theme of an organic wearable armour. I love Christopher Kane at Versus he does amazing things every season and this season was no exception. I adore prints as a designer they factor heavily into my work so of course other designers who use them and do so successfully I respect. He definitely gave something this season. My fave is not the colour blocking but the mixtures of tartan and floral in body-con dresses. Some of it was just meh but I enjoyed the prints. Gianfranco Ferre was nice. I LOVED the styling…I have to have that hairstyle. The make-up was impeccable. The clothes were sexy in a glamourous show stopping way but it was a bit too repetitive in the shapes and I didn’t like the palette. There was too much black and white. For some reason to me black and white seems a dated palette. Roberto Cavalli honestly did the best animal sheers of any designer thus far in fashion month. I think that has a lot to do with the maturity of the house’s aesthetic and the fact that they have been using animal prints for so long that are able to get extremely creative and think outside of the box and no I don’t mean like green leopard that’s ugly (cough BLUMARINE cough). Some of the design elements were a bit raunchy but the fabrics were impressive.

Yes, it’s quite a mixed bag but I’m just giving you my fashion opinions Straight Up!

GIANFRANCO FERRE: Glamour Puss

VERSUS: Print Worthy

FRANCESCO SCOGNAMIGLIO: Sheer Power Sexhouse

ROBERTO CAVALLI: Animal Sheers Done Right

Photos courtesy www.style.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

